Carnegie Mellon University
August 05, 2010

2010 Siebel Scholars Announced

Randy Bryant, Dean of the School of Computer Science, has announced the selection of 5 SCS graduate students as Siebel Scholars, including two from the ISR The Ph.D. program in Computation, Organizations and Society. They are:

  • Cinnie Huang (MS - HCI)
  • Elijah Mayfield (MS - LTI)
  • Adam Skory (MS - LTI)
  • Michael Benisch (PhD - COS)
  • Jana Diesner (PhD - COS)

The Siebel Scholars program was established to recognize the most talented students at the world's leading graduate schools of computer science, business and bioengineering, including Harvard University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Northwestern University, Stanford University, the University of Chicago, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of California at Berkeley, Carnegie Mellon University, Johns Hopkins, Tsinghua University, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Each year, five outstanding graduate students from each institution are honored as Siebel Scholars. The Siebel Scholars are selected by the Deans of each school on the basis of outstanding academic performance and qualities of leadership. Each Siebel Scholar receives a $35,000 award to defray tuition and expenses for the final year of his or her graduate studies.

The purpose of the Siebel Scholars program is threefold: to recognize graduate students who have demonstrated the highest levels of academic achievement and leadership; to support the graduate programs at universities that have made great contributions to the information technology industry and society; and to create a unique community of individuals who will share knowledge, engage in innovative projects, and provide one another with professional support throughout their careers.